Discover, touch, experience and hear the history by visiting these heritage properties. Most require bookings so please contact owners in advance.
Open Day 11th March 2018, 10.30pm – 3.30pm, entry $5 per person
Terrace Station was the home of Sir John and Rose, Lady Hall. Sir John was a runholder, politician and democratic reformer, remembered for leading the New Zealand Parliamentary campaign for women’s suffrage making New Zealand the first country where women could vote. The homestead was the first piece of domestic architecture in Canterbury to have a category 1 registration from Heritage New Zealand. The informal garden is full of magnificent trees under planted with woodland perennials and bulbs. Visitors can learn some of the history, view family possessions, including toys and games and books from the past two hundred years.
Address: 151 Milnes Road, Hororata
Open Times: Group visits only, by prior arrangement. Open Days lists on website, click below.
Contact Details: E: email@example.com
Sunday 11th March, Sunday 8th April – both 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Sunday 12th August, Sunday 9th September, Sunday 14th October and Sunday 4th November
St Johns Church, Hororata
The first St Johns was built in 1875, a small wooden church which was on the site of the stone church. When Sir John Hall died in 1907, he left money for a more substantial church to be built in memory of his wife, Rose, Lady Hall. The St Johns Stone Church is a category two listed Heritage building however it was significantly damaged in the 2010 earthquakes. There is much local history in these two buildings and also the graveyard. Visitors are welcomed with a local speaker to tell stories to pre-booked groups.
Address: Cnr Downs and Hororata Road
Open Times: By prior arrangement throughout the year
Contact Details: E: firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com
Cotons Cottage & Museum
Open 11th March 2018, 1.30pm – 4pm, entry by donation
Hororata Historic Society maintains the historic Coton’s Cottage and the Hororata Museum, which contain a wide range of artefacts, archives and photographs relating to the history of our district. Set on a beautiful rural site with plenty of parking, the cottage and museum are a great destination for those exploring the countryside, and for anyone interested in New Zealand history. Groups welcome. School children free. Family histories and much more. Coton’s Cottage and Museum is open 1.30pm – 4pm every Sunday September to May, open by appointment other times. Come see us at Cotons Road, Hororata.
Hours: 1.30pm – 4pm every Sunday, September to May. Open by appointment for school groups and private tours.
Physical Address: Cotons Road, Hororata
Contact: Robby Wilson (President), Helene Youngman (Secretary)
Phone: 03 318-0600 (president); 03 317-9903 (secretary) Post: 1481 Clintons Road, Darfield 7571 (secretary)
Homebush was the first run taken up in 1851 by William and John Deans who settled in the Christchurch suburb of Riccarton in 1843. The initial run of 33,000 acres is considerably reduced but has all the original farm buildings which are classified as category I with Heritage New Zealand. The Homebush museum features displays covering the full spectrum of country life from horse-drawn machinery, early petrol-driven engines, light industrial, military, sporting and domestic artefacts.
Address: 2142 Homebush Rd
Open Times: by appointment
Contact Details: E: firstname.lastname@example.org P: 03 3182 785
Open 11th March 2018, 1pm – 4pm, entry by donation
The Glentunnel Museum contains an extensive collection of items recording the history of the area which has seen much rural industrialism, particularly the pottery and brickworks. The museum has an extensive library of books written about the district and history of local service men who fought in WWI and WWII.
Address: Philip Street, Glentunnel
Open Times: 1pm – 4pm Sundays daylight saving hours or by appointment
Contact Details: E: email@example.com P: 03 3182 423
Steventon (‘Broomielaw’) was the New Zealand home of Lady Barker from 1865 – 1868. Two of her best known books, Station Life and Station Amusements in New Zealand are about the property. Tucked into the hills and surrounded by mature trees this listed historic house has retained many of its original features and the grounds are an oasis of birdsong.
Address: 550 Whitecliffs Rd, Whitecliffs
Open Times: By appointment
Contact Details: E firstname.lastname@example.org P: 03 3182 615
Gunyah Country Estate
Open 11th March 2018, 10am – 4pm, entry $10.00 per person
The name ‘Gunyah’, Aborigine for little hut or shelter belies the grandeur of this property. Built in 1912 for the son of former Prime Minister, Sir John Hall, the building’s exceptional calibre is endorsed by its Heritage New Zealand listing. It is also recognized by the NBR as one of the country’s top one hundred houses for its historical significance and Arts and Crafts Movement architecture. The Gunyah Homestead offers exclusive accommodation and dining, self-catering units and garden tours (by appointment).
Address: 720 Sleemans Road Glenroy-Windwhistle
Open Times: By appointment only
Contact Details: E: email@example.com P: 03 3186 800
Open 11th March 2018, 10am to 4pm. Bring a picnic and walk the Bushwalk, entry $10 per person
Rockwood, in the Canterbury foothills, is a historical homestead set within a beautiful woodland garden which includes English trees and rhododendrons. It is bordered by 100 acres of native bush and the Rockwood Stream and also features an 1850’s cob house, family graves, and a bushwalk with abundant native bird life. The Homestead has been recently redecorated in a classical style and is open by arrangement for garden/house tours. Rockwood also has a Shearers Hut for rent.
Address: Rockwood Farm, Washpen Rd, Darfield
Open Times: By appointment
Contact Details E: firstname.lastname@example.org P: 03 3186 809
Exploring Washpen Falls takes you through an ancient volcano full of caves, waterfalls, Maori history, wonderful geology & botany, including a magnificent concentration of Southern Rata. There are stunning views in all directions. Situated within a private farm, it is an excellent two hour adventure, usually accompanied by beautiful native birdsong.
Address: 590 Washpen Road Windwhistle
Open Times: 8.30am – 4.30pm daily
Contact Details: E: email@example.com P: 03 3186 813
The Point Station
The Point historic cob homestead was built in 1866 by the Richards family who have farmed the property since 1862. The surrounding 4 hectare arboretum was begun 150 years ago and the large rambling garden has been landscaped with paths meandering amounts mature trees, spring flowering bulbs, azaleas and rhododendrons. Newly established is a heritage tree walk which takes 15 minutes.
Address: 85 Point Rd, Windwhistle
Open Times: By appointment, groups preferred
Contact Details: E: firstname.lastname@example.org P: 03 3186 815
Lake Coleridge Power Station
Commissioned to power Christchurch, construction of the Lake Coleridge Power Station began in 1911 with the scheme officially opened in November 1914. It was the Government’s first venture into hydro-electric power and a massive engineering feat in its day, paving the way for the country’s hydro-electric future. Today the power scheme is owned by Trustpower and is still a significant contributor to the national grid. Information panels installed for the Power Station’s Centenary tell you more about the power scheme and its history.
Address: Lake Coleridge Village
Open Times: Information outside the Power Station can be viewed at any time. The Power Station does not run public tours.
Contact Details for village history: E: email@example.com P: 03 3185 002